ZoneEdit and DU

Asks questions about settings, bugs...

Moderators: willynt, DiskDrive, fifinou

willynt
Site Admin
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:32 am

ZoneEdit and DU

Postby willynt » Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:54 am

I have an account already with Zoneedit and downloaded DU, I have my domain registered .. I have added the domain to teh DU.

Now, how can I let the Zoneedit assigned domein to point to my machine using DU ?

Thank you
(from asaber@tedata.net.eg)

willynt
Site Admin
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:32 am

Postby willynt » Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:56 am

Hello,

If you created the account in DirectUpdate and unchecked the "disable/ignore account", then updates will be performed each time a new IP is detected.

So, your domain should always resolve to your IP.

Hope it helps
Regards
William

Guest

Postby Guest » Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:05 pm

I understand, but what shoudl I write @ zoneedit forward ?

Regards,

willynt
Site Admin
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:32 am

Postby willynt » Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:11 pm

You do not need "forward" at zoneedit...
Simply update an "A" record...
For example, if your domain is "yourdomain.com".
You only have to create the host "xxx" as an A record (at zoneedit) for the zone "yourdomain.com"
Then, in DirectUpdate, enter "xxx.yourdomain.com" in the "domain" field.

It means, that any dns request on "xxx.yourdomain.com" will resolve to your ip.

Hope it helps
Regards
William

Guest

Postby Guest » Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:33 pm

Ok, I have sent an E-Mail
Don't know what IP shoudl I write @ IP address @ zone edit?

MacUnix

Postby MacUnix » Sat May 21, 2005 10:51 pm

I know this is an old post but this may help someone.

use the address from whatismyip.com (what is my ip)

willynt
Site Admin
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:32 am

Postby willynt » Mon May 23, 2005 8:14 am

The IP you enter manually (for the A record) is not really important.
Indeed, it will be overwritten by the DirectUpdate updates !

I do not understand where the problem is...

CU
William

RobC
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 5:15 am

Postby RobC » Sat May 28, 2005 5:25 am

xxx.yourdomain.com is not meant to be a wild card for DU correct? "xxx" would represent a literal sub domain at zoneedit.

Is there any way to write a wild card statement for zoneedit? This would be extremely useful for me since I have about 50 subdomains.

OR can anyone recommend a good dyndns proivder that can service wild cards?

willynt
Site Admin
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:32 am

Postby willynt » Mon May 30, 2005 10:25 am

Hi,

I think you can use the format "*.yourdomain.com".
A quick serach in the zoneedit faq should give you the answer...

Hope it helps
Regards
William


Return to “Questions, bugs,...”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests