DirectUpdate with Windows 2003 DNS

Asks questions about settings, bugs...

Moderators: willynt, DiskDrive, fifinou

willynt
Site Admin
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:32 am

Postby willynt » Mon Jul 03, 2006 7:57 am

Hello duff1,

Thx for posting the solution.
Indeed, when entering "domain.com", DirectUpdate will contact "com" zone to update "domain" host.
In fact, it need to contact "domain.com" zone to update the root host.
So, adding a dot is a solution.

The other solution is to use the new "format" available since v4.1.2.
You can use:
host1,host2,host3:zone
and use @ for the root host.
So, entering:
"@,www:domain.com" (without the quotes of course) will update domain.com and www.domain.com (in the same request).

Hope it helps
Regards
William

wendoxin
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 6:53 am

Re: DirectUpdate with Windows 2003 DNS

Postby wendoxin » Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:46 am

How do I find the DNS server? My Toshiba laptop computer cannot connect to the internet wirelessly. It fails and I run it through all the suggested troubleshooting and still nothing. The last thing it says is that it cannot find the DNS server. Help Please.
______________________________
external keyword tool ~ keyworddiscovery.com ~ keycompete.com ~ compete.com ~ webmasterworld.com
Last edited by wendoxin on Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

willynt
Site Admin
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:32 am

Re: DirectUpdate with Windows 2003 DNS

Postby willynt » Fri Jun 17, 2011 8:36 am

wendoxin wrote:The last thing it says is that it cannot find the DNS server. Help Please.


Hi wendoxin,

Is it related to DirectUpdate? Or is it just an internet connexion issue?
Thx to clarify

Regards
William


Return to “Questions, bugs,...”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests