Rollernet service and updating the base domain record...

Asks questions about settings, bugs...

Moderators: willynt, DiskDrive, fifinou

Lumute
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 4:47 pm

Rollernet service and updating the base domain record...

Postby Lumute » Mon May 25, 2015 2:48 am

Hi,

I've been happily using DirectUpdate for years (Thanks so much!) with the Rollernet service. I now have the need to update the A record for the base domain entry with a special IP address different from the other records (domain.com without any host name), i beliave that is somtimes noted with @.

Looking at the Rollernet documentation you can use the "name" variable to update a single record and if you do not use it then it updates all A records. It also says that if you pass the "name" variable without any value then that is how you update the base domain record alone...

https://acc.rollernet.us/help/dns/primary.php#ddns

In DirectUpdate the "Field 1" is mapped to that name variable and works perfecly yet I could not figure out a way to make DirectUpdate pass the "name" variable without value to update my base domain record only. If I don't put anything in "Field 1" then it just does not use the name variable and updates everything....

Is there any way to do this?

Thanks!

G

serwusek
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:45 pm

Re: Rollernet service and updating the base domain record...

Postby serwusek » Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:47 pm

maybe I'm new here but i think there is no way to do this

willynt
Site Admin
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:32 am

Re: Rollernet service and updating the base domain record...

Postby willynt » Mon Jul 27, 2015 3:52 pm

Please find attached a new rollernet plugin.
To install it:
- Stop the DirectUpdate engine
- Copy/overwrite the attached dud file in the "dns" subfolder.
- Restart the engine

The checkbox "Enable wildcard" should now be enabled.
- To update the "wildcard" (ie *.yourdomain.com), check the box ("Field 1" will be ignored)
- To update yourhost.domain.com, uncheck "enable wildcard" and enter "yourhost" in "Field 1".
- To update "domain.com", uncheck "enable wildcard" and leave "Field 1" empty.

Any feedback more than welcome.
Thx
Attachments
Rollernet.us.dud
Rollernet v2 plugin
(531 Bytes) Downloaded 431 times

Lumute
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 4:47 pm

Re: Rollernet service and updating the base domain record...

Postby Lumute » Mon Jul 27, 2015 8:34 pm

Works Perfectly, just as described, exactly what I needed...

Thanks,

G


Return to “Questions, bugs,...”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests