How to setup Multiple IP detections?

Asks questions about settings, bugs...

Moderators: willynt, DiskDrive, fifinou

jaywest
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 2:35 pm

How to setup Multiple IP detections?

Postby jaywest » Sun Jul 10, 2005 2:45 pm

Hi there,
I have purchsed a second IP address from my cable provider so I can run two webserver (IIS and Apache) on one computer without specifying port numbers. It will just be easier for my users in the long run.

I can't find any documentation explaining how to setup a detection for two IP addresses. I have created a second entry under "IP Detections" but both entires detect the same IP. How do I specify that each IP detection should be checking for a different IP?

miki
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:46 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Postby miki » Tue Jul 12, 2005 12:02 am

I think it's a strange situation ...

- the IP are statics or dynamics?
- you have a "cable provider" and how many lan adapter you have?

Miki

jaywest
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 2:35 pm

Postby jaywest » Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:10 pm

Both IPs are dynamic. Currently I only have one LAN adapter which could be the problem.

Ultimately what I am trying to do is run both Apache and IIS on a Windows server and have them both use port 80 (so I would need two unique IP addresses) I was hoping to find a solution that would avoid having to specify an alternative port number like 8080 that might confuse novice web users.

miki
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:46 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Postby miki » Tue Jul 12, 2005 7:56 pm

jaywest wrote:Both IPs are dynamic. Currently I only have one LAN adapter which could be the problem.


yes, should be the problem ...

Try this:
- open a dos windows
- type "ipconfig /all"
- report here the result

A question: how do you see the IP you are using?

jaywest wrote:Ultimately what I am trying to do is run both Apache and IIS on a Windows server and have them both use port 80 (so I would need two unique IP addresses) I was hoping to find a solution that would avoid having to specify an alternative port number like 8080 that might confuse novice web users.


yes, if you want run 2 web server on same PC you need 2 IP address
or you can use IIS on port 80 (http://) and Apache on port 443 (https://)

Bye

Miki

jaywest
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 2:35 pm

Postby jaywest » Tue Jul 12, 2005 9:04 pm

Thanks for the reply. I have posted my ipconfig here:
http://www.jaywest.com/ipconfig.gif

It only seems to be detecting one IP address.

I'm interested in your suggestion of using https port 443. That might fix my problem. So if I setup Apache to listen to port 443 then users wouldn't need to specify a port number as long as they connected to https ? I could then use IIS or an ASP detection page to redirect http requests to the Apache server through an https request.

if Request.ServerVariables("HTTPS") = "on" then
response.redirect...

Can I use https without a certificate?

miki
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:46 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Postby miki » Wed Jul 13, 2005 2:02 am

jaywest wrote:Thanks for the reply. I have posted my ipconfig here:
http://www.jaywest.com/ipconfig.gif


It only seems to be detecting one IP address.

mmm ... only the "private" IP (192.168.1.2) and there aren't the public IPs

Are you connected with a router?

jaywest wrote:I'm interested in your suggestion of using https port 443. That might fix my problem. So if I setup Apache to listen to port 443 then users wouldn't need to specify a port number as long as they connected to https ? I could then use IIS or an ASP detection page to redirect http requests to the Apache server through an https request.

if Request.ServerVariables("HTTPS") = "on" then
response.redirect...


I don't know ...

jaywest wrote:Can I use https without a certificate?


I think you can use a self signed certificate.

Miki

jaywest
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 2:35 pm

Postby jaywest » Wed Jul 13, 2005 2:29 am

Thanks for the reply. Yes I am connected with a router. You have given me a few ideas that I will continue to research to se if I can sneak around this port issue.

miki
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:46 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Postby miki » Wed Jul 13, 2005 11:11 pm

Good luck and let we know your progress ;)

Miki

willynt
Site Admin
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 6:32 am

Postby willynt » Fri Jul 29, 2005 12:49 pm

Hello guys,

Wahoo, wait a minute, you can easily host 2 differents web sites on the same machine using the same server (and one IP address).
Unless you absolutely need to run apache AND IIS simultanesouly... (which I doubt).

in Apache, this option is called "virtual web server".
In IIS, you can simply add differents "web site", running on port 80 !

When a browser sends an HTTP request, the destination web site (domain name) is added to the http header.
Then, the web server analyzes the http header, and redirect the query to the right web site.

Hope it helps
Regards
William

jaywest
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 2:35 pm

Postby jaywest » Mon Aug 08, 2005 6:28 pm

Thanks for the reply, William. The trouble is that I do in fact want to run both servers at the same time. I use IIS for web development (already using host headers) and Apache to run Moveable Type. I would like to run both at the same without having to specify port numbers like www.example.com:8080 for Apache since IIS is using port 80.


Return to “Questions, bugs,...”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests