Page 1 of 1

why won't my email work? help pleasse

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:37 am
by busta
I don't know why but when I click send test email, nothing happens. I have put in the server address smtp.comcast.net, and I have put my username and password and when I click the send button, nothing happens? help please

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 11:35 am
by miki
Check the DU's windows log and report the [ERR]

Miki

Posted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 1:04 pm
by willynt
Hi,

Mikki is right, thx to report the ERR from the log file.
All the data exchanged with the mail server are dumped locally in "dump\SMTP.txt"
Having a look at this file can help !

You can also turn on "debug" log... (do not forget to turn it back to off after testing)

Cu
William

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 3:18 pm
by Guest
Mine doesnt work either....this is what I get:
Test failed. SMTP error is 0 -- (null) (cmd=<NONE) - 15539 Destination host couldn't be found.

I can send emails just fine with Outlook using the same smtp server....why can't direct update use it ??.....is it because DC is using localhost as its primary server ?.... anyway to have it look over the web ?

Any idea ?

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 3:20 pm
by Guest
^^ I'm the same guy ^^

That's what my dump /smtp.txt file says:
<!-- DirectUpdate: Returned Mon, 01 Aug 2005 09:57:15 from relais.videotron.ca in 4713ms -->

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2005 8:07 pm
by miki
don't write 2 time the same problem ...

Are you sure you have entered the right data in config ?

Check your folder --> C:\Program Files\DirectUpdate\Dump

and search for SMTP.txt

Report here.

Miki

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 11:55 am
by Guest
Yes I'm sure of it, I doubble checked with my email client's config for it.

I posted twice to add some details since I cannot 'edit' my post till I register myself ;)

Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 9:43 am
by willynt
Hi Guest :)

Apparently, you entered "relais.videotron.ca" for the smtp server.
Are you sure this is the right server ?
Cos the error returned is "server unreachable".
Did you enter the right port ? (25 by default) ?

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:31 am
by Guest
yeah, well, this outgoing mail server works fine in my Outlook client. Never had to specify any other port to use it so I assume it is using the port 25 like all others.